Golden achievements


Sixteen pupils or former pupils from Gore High School, St Peter’s College and Blue Mountain College who received their gold Duke of Edinburgh’s Hillary Awards at the weekend are (from left, back) Oliver Stark (18), Jordan Miller (18), Cheyanne Candy (18), Paige McIvor (18), Sydney Robertson (18), Caleb Stuart (18), Rory Munro (18), Harlie Johnston (18) and Owen Gardner (18), and (front) Kate Henton (17), Samantha Whyte (18), Charlotte Smith (18), Chelsea Dew (17), Governor-General Dame Patsy Reddy, Becky Thomas (18), Olivia Reihana (18) and Piper Munro (18).

Duke of Edinburgh’s Hillary Award Southland hub leader Vicki Crawford said it was a proud day for all recipients and their families.

“Gold is the pinnacle of the Duke of Edinburgh’s Hillary Award, but it will open doors for these students.

“It was a prestigious day for students to celebrate with their families, especially as the award shows their achievements and perseverance.”¬†PHOTO: SUPPLIED