Local talent ... Nicola Mitchell (15) was the highest scoring Gore Country Music Club member in the intermediate section of the New Zealand Gold Guitars. PHOTO:SANDY EGGLESTON

A performer from Westport was the overall winner, but voices from the Deep South were also recognised at the 46th annual Gold Guitar Awards in Gore on Saturday night.

Jaydin Shingleton, of Westport, won the top prize when he was named senior overall winner on Saturday night.

It capped a stellar night for the 20-year-old, who had narrowly missed out on the top spot in the previous two events.

He also went home on Saturday night with top honours in the gospel, country rock, open singer/songwriter and male vocal solo sections, and in the duet section with Ainslie Allen, of Porirua.

But performers from further south were also recognised, including Liv Cochrane, of Invercargill, who was named senior overall winner runner-up and also won the NZ song category.

Dunedin’s Valley Bluegrass band won the traditional section, and Jenny Harraway, of Gore, the open new country category.

The senior awards brought to a conclusion a six-day festival of country music that attracted its second-highest number of entries this year, at 736.

Convener Philip Geary said that reflected the increasingly high regard in which the awards were held.

”Gore is at the heart of country music in New Zealand, and the Gold Guitars are its premier awards event. We’re very pleased with the way it’s all gone this year.”

New Zealand Gold Guitar Award 2019 Winners.
Senior Winner: Jaydin Shingleton, Westport.
Senior runner-up: Liv Cochrane, Invercargill
Highest schieving Gore CMC member: Lana Stevens, Riversdale
Gospel: Jaydin Shingleton, Westport
Country Rock: Jaydin Shingleton, Westport
Duet: Ainslie and Jaydin, Porirua
Instrumental: Nick Brightwell, Auckland
Traditional: Vallet Bluegrass, Dunedin
New Zealand Song: Liv Cochrane, Invercargill
Open band: Harmony Hunters, Nelson
Open vocal group: Route 66, Nelson
Open new country: Jenny Harraway, Gore
Open Singer/Songwriter: Jaydin Shingleton, Westport
Female volcal solo: Emma Wollum, Auckland
Male vocal solo: Jaydin Shingleton, Westport

Intermediate overall winner: Ocean Waitokia, Ashburton
Intermediate overall runner-up: Holly Muirhead, Invercargill
Highest scoring Gore CMC member: Nicola Mitchell, Gore
Intermediate vocal solo: Ocean Waitokia, Ashburton
Intermediate gospel: Holly Muirhead, Invercargill
Intermediate country rock: Ocean Waitokia, Ashburton
Intermediate duet: Emelia and Michael, Invercargill
Intermediate instrumental: Josh Keating, Pegasus
Intermediate traditional: Ocean Waitokia, Ashburton
Intermediate New Zealand song: Ocean Waitokia, Ashburton

Junior overall winner: Caleb Croy, Mosgiel
Junior overall runner-up: Fiah Adams, Invercargill
Highest scoring Gore CMC member: Gemma Bulleid, Gore
Junior vocal solo: Caleb Croy, Mosgiel
Junior gospel: Fiah Adams, Invercargill
Junior country rock: Fiah Adams, Invercargill
Junior duet: Maddison and William Connor.

40 Plus
40 plus overall winner: Kylie and Jacinta, Invercargill
40 plus highest scoring Gore CMC: Carol Armour, Gore
40 plus vocal solo: Susanne Taylor, Patea
40 plus gospel: Sue Smith, Otautau

60 Plus
60 plus overall winner: Heather Thacker, Gore
60 plus highest scoring Gore CMC: Heather Thacker, Gore
60 plus vocal solo: Heather Thacker, Gore
60 plus gospel: Bill McColl, Dunedin
60 plus New Zealand song: Heather Thacker, Gore
60 plus traditional Jean Barkman, Waimate

latest Running SneakersNike Trainers & Shoes for Men, Women & Kids