First time winners ... The Gore Golf ladies Gilmour Rosebowl team celebrate winning the trophy for the first time in 16 years. (From left) Heather Waby, Brenda Duncan, Sheryll Loney, Joanne Osbourne and Dianne Herron. PHOTO: SUPPLIED

It may have taken 16 years but the Gilmour Rosebowl golf trophy has finally made its way to Gore.

A women’s team from the Gore Golf Club beat a strong Waikaka women’s team in a matchplay game held on Tuesday at the Waikaka Golf Club.

The Gore team, made up of Heather Waby, Brenda Duncan, Sheryll Loney, Joanne Osbourne and Dianne Herron, secured the Rosebowl with three wins, one half and one loss.

Gore women’s section captain Deborah Paterson was ecstatic the team had won the Rosebowl for the first time in its 16-year existence.

“It was just amazing – it was really exciting. We had some great supporters out there watching and we were all so excited.

“They played really well,” Paterson said.

Taking home the trophy was a big coup for the club.

“It’s huge, absolutely – to win it for the first time is incredible.

“We were all jumping up and down on the side – it was great to watch.”

She paid tribute to the strong Waikaka team, which was always hard to beat.

“Both teams played brilliantly and they were great to us up there.”

Waby, who was playing in the competition for the first time, said she was thrilled to win.

“It was a huge relief. It was a very steep course from what we are used to. We were all so excited.”

Herron said weather conditions on the day made it a hard win – “it was very warm and it was very windy. I just had to concentrate on my own game.”

She did not know they had won the trophy until she stepped off the green.

“We are better off not to know when we are playing. It was great to win.”

The Gilmour Rosebowl is a Southland-wide challenge involving 16 teams.

Te Anau will challenge Gore for the trophy early next month.jordan release dateFullress , スニーカー発売日 抽選情報 ニュースを掲載!ナイキ ジョーダン ダンク シュプリーム SUPREME 等のファッション情報を配信!